MGMT Covers Bauhaus for new Compilation CD

MGMT Late Night Tales album cover MGMT performs a cover of the Bauhaus classic “All We Ever Wanted Is Everything” for forthcoming compilation that also features Velvet Underground, Julian Cope and more.


“Late Night Tales” is a compilation that will be available 10/4/11.

LateNightTales invites the world’s best artists to delve deep into their music collections to create the ultimate “late night” selection. The series now features over 24 diverse Artists such as The Flaming Lips, Nightmares On Wax, Snow Patrol, Cinematic Orchestra, Four Tet, Jamiroquai, Arctic Monkeys and more recently Midlake who have all taken us on their nocturnal musical journeys…Each offering an exclusive cover version and with spoken word by the likes of Will Self, David Shrigley, Bootsy Collins and Brian Blessed. Look back, look forward, relax and enjoy…

The Late Night Tales series was established way back in 2001 with Fila Brazilia taking the controls and mixing up a debut release for the series that became heralded as “The Rolls Royce Of Compilations” by GQ Magazine.

Artist Profile

Formed in 2002 in Brooklyn, New York the band consists of multi-instrumentalists Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser, both alumni of Wesleyan University. Their 2008 debut album ‘Oracular Spectacular’ spawned the almost ubiquitous hit singles ‘Kids’, ‘Time to Pretend’ and ‘Electric Feel’ while 2010’s counter-culture figureheads reflects the band’s multifaceted sound, and draws comparisons with contemporary dreampop/chillwave/shoegaze/folk scenes on both sides of the Atlantic. The listener finds MGMT presiding over the playlist “after-the-after-party”; Luminaries The Velvet Underground, Suicide and Julian Cope, although not with their most famous songs, sit alongside less familiar names as Disco Inferno; whose ‘Can’t See it Through’ from their final ’96 album ‘Techincolour’ opens proceedings. MGMT’s exclusive cover of ‘All We Ever Wanted Was Everything’ by Bauhaus sits comfortably alongside the UK post-punk-gothic band’s peers The Durutti Column, The Chills, The Jacobites and Felt’s brief but imposing instrumental ‘Red Indians.’ Paranoia strikes deep: the double head of Cheval Sombre’s ‘Trouble Mind’ and ‘Drug Song’ by 60’s Christian folk singer Dave Bixby accentuate the hope offered by the ever penitent Spaceman 3 (MGMT’s second album ‘Congratulations’ was recorded with founder Pete Kember aka Sonic Boom), who deliver ‘Lord Can You Hear Me?’ in respect to the beautiful closer ‘Morning Splendor’, taken from Pauline Anna Strom’s rare ’82 LP ‘Trans-Millenia Consort’. Putting a full stop on the selection, music journalist and Art of Noise collaborator Paul Morley continues his ‘Lost For Words’ short story.

CD Album Tracklist:

01 Disco Inferno Can’t See Through It

02 The Great Society Love You Girl

03 Suicide Cheree

04 Television Personalities Stop & Smell The Roses

05 The Velvet Underground Ocean

06 Felt Red Indians

07 Julian Cope Laughing Boy

08 The Durutti Column For Belgium Friends

09 Charlie Feathers Mound of Clay

10 Mark Fry For Wilde

11 MGMT All We Ever Wanted Was Everything (Exclusive Cover Version)

12 Cheval Sombre Trouble Mind

13 Dave Bixby Drug Song

14 The Jacobites Hearts Are Like Flowers

15 The Chills Pink Frost

16 Martin Rev Sparks

17 The Wake Melancholy Man

18 Spaceman 3 Lord Can You Hear Me?

19 Pauline Anna Strom Morning Splendor

20 Paul Morley Lost For Words – Part. 2 (Exclusive Spoken Word Piece)


TLC in the Morning




We share cookies at 92ZEW for a better experience and google analytics only. By continuing you agree to terms & conditions.