U2’s New Album “Songs of Experience” Finally Gets Released

U2’s 14th studio album, Songs of Experience (sequel to their 2014 studio effort, Songs of Innocence) is out today.

U2 'Songs of Experience'

The 13-track collection is available on CD, vinyl, digitally and via streaming services, while a deluxe version that includes extra tracks also is out on CD and as a digital download.

According to a statement, Bono’s approach to writing the tunes for the new album was inspired by advice given to him by Irish poet, novelist and teacher Brendan Kennelly.   It resulted in “a collection of songs in the form of intimate letters to places and people close to the singer’s heart — family, friends, fans, himself.”

U2 released four tracks prior to the album’s arrival: “You’re the Best Thing About Me,” “The Blackout,” “Get Out of Your Own Way” and “American Soul.” The band has also posted clips of two other Songs of Experience tunes — “Red Flag Day” and “Lights of Home” — on its official Facebook page.

To celebrate the album’s release, Bono will a guest on the NFL Network show Good Morning Footbal ltoday at 7 a.m. ET. As previously reported, U2 will be the musical guest on this weekend’s edition of Saturday Night Live, airing at 11:30 p.m. ET on NBC.

Here is the full track list for Songs of Experience:

“Love Is All We Have Left”
“Lights of Home”
“You’re the Best Thing About Me”
“Get Out of Your Own Way”
“American Soul”
“Summer of Love”
“Red Flag Day”
“The Showman (Little More Better)”
“The Little Things That Give You Away”
“The Blackout”
“Love Is Bigger Than Anything in Its Way”
“13 (There Is a Light)”
“Ordinary Love” (Extraordinary Mix)*
“Book of Your Heart”*
“Lights of Home” (St. Peter’s String Version)*
“You’re the Best Thing About Me” (U2 vs. Kygo)*

* = only on deluxe version.


TLC in the Morning




We share cookies at 92ZEW for a better experience and google analytics only. By continuing you agree to terms & conditions.